MTH 142- Sec 2000 Calendar and Syllabus Summer 2005

The following calendar gives a timetable for the course. We may be slightly behind or ahead at any given time. Some of the exercises may be done in class, others as homework.

 

Day

 Events

Core Exercises

WEEK 1

 

 

Mon - June 27

10-10:30 Intro

10:35 11:15 Lesson 1

11:30 12:15 Lesson 2

Sec 5.5: 1-4, 9-17, 37-39, 43-45
Sec 5.6: 3-10, 16-18

Tues - June 28

10-10:45 Lesson 1

11 11:15 Go over Homework

11:15 11:45 Lesson 2

12 12:30 Q1 (5.5, 5.6)

Sec 5.7:  1, 5, 6, 7, 15-20, 25-27, 31-32
Appendix G (p. A53) 3-8, 11, 12, 19, 20, 25, 26

Wed June 29

10-10:45 Lesson 1

11 11:15 Go over Homework

11:15 11:45 Lesson 2

12 12:30 Q2 (5.7, AG)

1-2:30 Office Hrs, Tyler 222

Sec 5.8:  1, 9, 10, 25, 27
Sec 5.9:  1, 3, 6, 9, 13, 18, 22, 23, 26

Thurs June 30

10-10:45 Lesson 1

11 11:15 Go over Homework

11:15 11:45 Lesson 2

12 12:30 Q3 (5.8, 5.9)

3-5 Help with Maple I in Computer Lab Tyler 101

Sec 5.10:  2, 3, 5-11,19-24, 41-48
Sec 6.1:  1-3, 5-9, 33, 36

WEEK 2

 

 

Tues July 5

10-10:45 Lesson 1

11 11:15 Go over Homework

11:15 11:45 Lesson 2

12 12:30 Q4 (5.10, 6.1)

1-2:30 Office Hrs, Tyler 222

Sec 6.2:  2-5, 9-12, 28-32
Sec 6.3:  3-8, 17, 18

Wed July 6

10-11:30 EXAM 1 (5.5 5.9, AG)

11:45 12:30 Group Work

1-3 Help with Maple I in Computer Lab Tyler 101

Work Sheet 1

Thurs July 7

10-10:45 Lesson 1

11 11:15 Go over Homework

11:15 11:45 Lesson 2

12 12:30 Q5 (6.2, 6.3)
Hand in Maple I

Sec 6.4:  1-6, 10-12
Appendix H1 (p. A62) 7-9, 13, 15, 30-31, 43-46

Fri July 8

10-10:45 Lesson 1

11 11:15 Go over Homework

11:15 11:45 Lesson 2

12 12:30 Q6 (6.4, AH1)

Appendix H2 (p. 68) 1-3, 9-12, 15
Sec 6.5:  1-4, 7-8, 10, 12, 19, 23, 27-29

WEEK 3

 

 

Mon July 11

10-10:45 Lesson 1

11 11:15 Go over Homework

11:15 11:45 Lesson 2

12 12:30 Q7 (AH2, 6.5)

1-2:30 Office Hrs, Tyler 222

Sec 6.7:  1-2, 4-7, 11
Sec 7.1:  1-5, 7

Tues July 12

10-10:45 Lesson 1

11 11:15 Go over Homework

11:15 11:45 Lesson 2

12 12:30 Q8 (6.7)

1-2:30 Office Hrs, Tyler 222

Sec 7.2:  1, 3-6, 9, 11-12, 21-23
Sec 7.3:  1-5, 9-12, 17, 33, 35

Wed July 13

10-11:30 EXAM 2 (5.10 6.7,  AH1, AH2)

11:45 12:30 Group Work

1-3 Help with Maple II in Computer Lab Tyler 101

Work Sheet 2

Thurs July 14

10-10:45 Lesson 1

11 11:15 Go over Homework

11:15 11:45 Lesson 2

12 12:30 Q9 (7.1, 7.2, 7.3)
Hand in Maple II

Sec 7.4:  3, 6, 8, 10, 14, 17
Sec 7.5:  1-5, 8

WEEK 4

 

 

Mon July 18

10-10:45 Lesson 1

11 11:15 Go over Homework

11:15 11:45 Lesson 2

12 12:30 Q10 (7.4, 7.5)

1-3 Help with Maple III in Computer Lab Tyler 101

Sec 8.1:  3-4, 9-14, 17, 23, 27, 31
Sec 8.2:  1, 3-4, 9, 12-20, 29-30

Tues July 19

10-10:45 Lesson 1

11 11:15 Go over Homework

11:15 11:45 Lesson 2

12 12:30 Q11 (8.1, 8.2)

Hand in Maple III

Sec 8.3:  6-19, 24, 33
Sec 8.4:  1, 3-5, 7, 10, 12-13, 18, 19-21, 23, 31

Wed July 20

10-10:45 Lesson 1

11 11:15 Go over Homework

11:15 11:45 Lesson 2

12 12:30 Q12 (8.3, 8.4)

1-2:30 Office Hrs, Tyler 222

Sec 8.5:  3-5, 13-16, 20 

Work Sheet 3

Thurs July 21

10-10:45 Lesson 1

11 11:15 Go over Homework

11:15 11:45 Lesson 2

12 12:30 Q13 (8.5)

Sec 8.6:  3-5, 11-14, 21-23, 25
Sec 8.7:  3, 5, 7-13, 21, 23, 31, 34, 40-41, 43

WEEK 5

 

 

Mon July 25

10 11:30 EXAM 3 (7.1 8.5)

11:45 12:30 Group Work

1-2:30 Office Hrs, Tyler 222

Work Sheet 4

Tues July 26

10 - 10:45 Lesson 1

11 11:15 Go over Homework

11:15 11:45 Lesson 2

12 12:30 Q14 (8.6, 8.7)

1-3 Help with Maple IV in Computer Lab Tyler 101

Sec 8.8:  1-3, 9, 11, 13-14
Sec 8.9:  12-15, 21-22

Wed July 27

10 10:15 Go over Homework

10:15 11:00 Group Work

11:15 11:45 Q15 (8.8, 8.9)

12:00 12:30 Review

Hand in Maple IV

1-2:30 Office Hrs, Tyler 222

Work Sheet 5

Thurs July 28

FINAL EXAM

Covers all of the above.